Busted Hell Hunters Down

I wish I could track stats more specific to individual quests to see what resources it took to bring this Molten Tigrex down. For each run I bring Mega Pots (and pots and honey to make more Mega Pots), stones and steaks, and also Demondrug, Armorskin, Max Pots (though on this quest they give you two), Deodorant (for the love), traps, and mats for more traps. Molten Tigrex (MT) doesn’t stay trapped long though, traps were more for those perfect moments when I’m loaded up and sharp and MT is enraged, I’ll try to trap and get a nose shot with the big attack (but somehow pay for it).

 

IMG_0017

Busted Hell Hunters down, feels so good to have all these checked.

 

For a long time I switched to  Charge Axes, Arachnoscythe, from Dear Rose for the sharpness, which still didn’t make it happen. It was the Dominisect that did it. I’ve always like the Seltas Queen weapons. Sharpness was a pain to deal with but the extra damage was enough to make it happen.

After so many encounters my most fine tuned insights are about patience and practice. I realized that I was making it 15-20 minutes into the fight, MT is drooling and flopping around, I pounce and push it to enrage and then I die quickly. I felt like I had to push it because I was “running low” on resources, pots, deodorant. First off, I really wasn’t, but after burning through the ebb and flow of attack and dodge, after 20 minutes or so I was anxious and it was caused me to misstep. Like a live band, sometimes its hard not to speed up, things get a little scruffy.

Another insight has to do with practice. Before I downed this boss I had just spent 20 minutes dying. I play so often that I normally only try a challenging quest once so I don’t get frustrated. That day I did it back to back, I had been building up to it and I felt good about trying it one more time. I still got carted twice but focused practice let me stay ahead of him. MT’s body language gives up his attacks, often enough I could guess where he was going to finish his attack and land harder hits without taking damage or contracting blight.

I enjoyed this fight but it was one I was stuck on at a serious plateau, so I’ve never tried it again. During the hunt though I took it at pace and respected it, it was cool to get it done.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

