Molten Tigrex

Monster Hunter is throw shit hard. I studied a little before I bought it and read that Monster Hunter 4 U is the softest entry point into the series to date. Beats me if that is true but I believed it when I started playing and sensed some definite hand holding going on. How fucking ever…there are a few little beasties that seem to trigger random damage at whatever distance no matter what is going on and that, is why I love and hate the softest entry point into the Monster Hunter franchise to date. One of my favorite in the WTF catagory, the Molten Tigrex.

My first fight with the Molten Tigrex was at the end of the caravan quests, which I finished most of before I realized I was going to have to do the online stuff too. I was happy to have something to focus on other than those higher quests, so I was happier to see my system work, playing low level online quests while chipping away at the offline end game, to finally beat those monsters once. One time was all it took for me to congratulate myself and hopefully never look back. But you do have to go back.

I made it to G-rank and things are increasingly difficult, so like before, after a break from the game I am going back and doing quests that I left out trying to forge ahead to the G-rank quests. The low-level advanced stuff was fun in my Seregios gear and Glaive. The high-rank stuff same way, but I have found myself up against the Molten Tigrex again and have been reminded of how cautious you have to be to take some of them down. Don’t get me wrong, I know I can beat it, with worse gear I farmed Tigrex tail and fang for weapons, but its monsters like this, and the Shiguru Magala, and Teostra, that require such a muster of focus over time, that make this game one of the hardest to get to the end game of.

At the same time, at this level every little upgrade has a noticeable impact in a fight. Less health lost, more damage done, more flinches, mounts, pieces. This thing though, that has me running around like a bomb scarfing stacks of deodorant to avoid myself exploding is just ugh, it is to be wrestled with. It’s my feeling that the glaive is the best weapon for it though because once you get MT fired up there is a rhythm to each attack that lets me hit while on my way to the safe side of an attack. The glaive lets me stay super mobile and out of the way of the bomb dusts that ignites over time. Don’t forget too that while you are smoking like a fuse if he hits you it causes extra damage, so when its all enranged and trying over and over to hit you with that roar, that’s because its a one-shot, I would spam it too.

Molten Tigrex plushie, I’ve been cussing sweating mad at this monster, but look how cute…

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a comment